₹916.00
  • M.R.P.: ₹1,121.00
  • You Save: ₹205.00 (18%)
  • Inclusive of all taxes
This title will be released around October 28, 2021.
Pre-order now.
Sold and fulfilled by Bookswagon.
1-Click ordering is not available.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
₹975.00
FREE Delivery. Details
Sold by: Atlantic Publishers and Distributors
Sold by: Atlantic Publishers and Distributors
(16320 ratings)
90% positive over the last 12 months
This title will be released around October 28, 2021.
Pre-order now.
Shipping rates and Return policy
₹1,162.00
FREE Delivery.
Sold by: Bookswagon
Sold by: Bookswagon
(8458 ratings)
78% positive over the last 12 months
This title will be released around October 28, 2021.
Pre-order now.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Have one to sell?

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Please enter your mobile phone number or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link", you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more.

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Among The Hedges Paperback – Import, 25 November 2021

4.2 out of 5 stars 3 ratings

Price
New from
Paperback, Import
₹916.00
₹916.00
₹30.00 delivery: Oct 30 - Nov 6 Details

Save Extra with 4 offers

Bank Offer (13): 10% Instant Discount up to INR 1500 on Axis Bank Credit Card Transactions. Minimum purchase of INR 5000 See All
No Cost EMI: Avail No Cost EMI on select cards for orders above ₹3000 Details

Product description

Review

Praise for Four by Four:

With short, propulsive chapters, Sara Mesa creates an unforgettable gothic landscape, centered on the mysterious and menacing Wybrany College, that twists in ways that unsettle and thrill. In Four by Four, Mesa's sentences are clear as glass, but when you look through you will be terrified by what you see."--Laura van den Berg, author of The Third Hotel

"The atmospheric unraveling of the mystery will keep you turning the page; the ending will leave you stunned--Mesa's Four by Four is a tautly written literary thriller that juxtaposes the innocence of children with the fetish of control; a social parable that warns against the silence of oppression and isolation through its disquieting, sparse prose."--Kelsey Westenberg, Seminary Co-op

"Stylistically, Four by Four's narrative structure is both dazzling and dizzying, as its perfect pacing only enhances the metastasizing dread and dis-ease. . . . Mesa exposes the thin veneer of venerability to be hiding something menacing and unforgivable--and Four by Four lays it bare for all the world to see."--Jeremy Garber, Powell's Books

"Very few authors evoke a visceral reaction with prose in the way that Sara Mesa does. . . . Four by Four sounds an alarm on the dangers of power, privilege, and the self-delusions told in order to hide complicity. A work of high gothic art, Four by Four solidifies Mesa as one of the strongest female voices in contemporary Spanish literature."--Cristina Rodriguez, Deep Vellum Books

"This is a linguistically precise, stylistically spare and emotionally devastating look at the corrosive effect of abuse and power imbalance, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and Samanta Schweblin."--Cindy Pauldine, Shelf Awareness, starred review

"Like Buñuel's Exterminating Angel, or even Bong Joon-ho's Parasite, the rich are left rotting in a swamp of their own design. . . . Four by Four is an uncomfortably real look into the absurd world of the bourgeoisie. It is so complex and layered that, to reach a full understanding, one may have to read it two or even three times. Not a single character, after all, is what they seem."--Noelle Mcmanus, The Women's Review of Books

Praise for Among the Hedges:

When you find yourself caught in the spiderweb of Sara Mesa's fiction, you wonder how she does it, what the substance is that glues you to her books--that asphalt that impregnates you while you're reading as well as hours and days after you have closed the book. With Among the Hedges it happens again.--Carlos Zanón, Babelia, El País (Book of the Week)

What is fascinating about Sara Mesa is her ability to map the human condition through losers, the abuse of power, oppressive and isolated places, the slow and continuous degradation. That's why her novels are so interesting: because they are always rough, bitter, sincere, dark, unpleasant and slow.--Ángeles López, La Razón

Among the Hedges is pure Sara Mesa, though with a new touch of melancholy. A disturbing and provocative novel.--Luisgé Martín

A very literary novel due to the wise use of narrative times. The chiaroscuros are better at explaining the human being and literature was born to remind us of this. A much-needed novel for our times.--José María Pozuelo Yvancos, Abc Cultural

A couple of characters who meet when perhaps they shouldn't have, and that make us question our own prejudices, the labels we put on others and our own notions of normality.--Eva Piquer, Ara

About the Author

Sara Mesa is the author of eight works of fiction, including Scar (winner of the Ojo Critico Prize), Four by Four (a finalist for the Herralde Prize), An Invisible Fire (winner of the Premio Málaga de Novela), Among the Hedges, and Un amor. Her works have been translated into more than ten different languages, and she has been widely praised for her concise, sharp writing style.

Megan McDowell has translated many of the most important Latin American writers working today, including Samanta Schweblin and Alejandro Zambra. Her translations have won the English PEN award and the Premio Valle-Inclán, and been nominated three times for the International Booker Prize. Her short story translations have been featured in The New Yorker, The Paris Review, Tin House, McSweeney's, and Granta, among others. In 2020 she won an Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She lives in Santiago, Chile.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Open Letter (25 November 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 120 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1948830396
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1948830393
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 159 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 12.7 x 1.27 x 20.07 cm
  • Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ USA
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 3 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
3 global ratings
5 star
62%
4 star 0% (0%) 0%
3 star
38%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

No customer reviews

There are 0 customer reviews and 3 customer ratings.