₹ 779.00
  • M.R.P.: ₹ 899.00
  • You Save: ₹ 120.00 (13%)
  • Inclusive of all taxes
In stock.
Other Sellers on Amazon
₹ 818.00
+ ₹ 20.00 Delivery charge
Sold by: Sunrise Book store
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more.

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Complete MAUS Paperback – 2 October 2003

4.8 out of 5 stars 3,797 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from
Paperback
₹ 779.00
₹ 779.00
FREE delivery: Monday, May 10 Details

Save Extra with 3 offers

Cashback (3): Get up to ₹300 back on Amazon Pay ICICI credit card approval. And get 5% back for prime members and 3% for others See All
No Cost EMI: Avail No Cost EMI on select cards for orders above ₹3000 Details
What is Pay on Delivery (Cash/Card)?
Pay on Delivery (Cash/Card) payment method includes Cash on Delivery (COD) as well as Debit card / Credit card / Net banking payments at your doorstep.
Amazon Delivered
Amazon directly manages delivery for this product. Order delivery tracking to your doorstep is available.
No-Contact Delivery

Delivery Associate will place the order on your doorstep and step back to maintain a 2-meter distance.

No customer signatures are required at the time of delivery.

For Pay-on-Delivery orders, we recommend paying using Credit card/Debit card/Netbanking via the pay-link sent via SMS at the time of delivery. To pay by cash, place cash on top of the delivery box and step back.

Enhance your purchase


Frequently bought together

  • The Complete MAUS
  • +
  • Persepolis
  • +
  • Palestine
Total price: 1 872,00 ₹
Buy the selected items together

Product description

Review

The first masterpiece in comic book history ― New Yorker

One of the clichés about the Holocaust is that you can't imagine it - Spiegelman disproves this theory ― Independent

A brutally moving work of art ― Boston Globe

In the tradition of Aesop and Orwell, it serves to shock and impart powerful resonance to a well-documented subject. The artwork is so accomplished, forceful and moving ― TimeOut

Spiegelman has turned the exuberant fantasy of comics inside out by giving us the most incredible fantasy in comics' history: something that actually occurred. Maus is terrifying not for its brutality, but for its tenderness and guilt ― New Yorker

An epic story told in tiny pictures ― New York Times

The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust ― Wall Street Journal

Maus is a book that cannot be put down, truly, even to sleep...when you finish Maus, you are unhappy to have left that magical world and long for the sequel that will return you to it -- Umberto Eco

A remarkable feat of documentary detail and novelistic vividness...an unfolding literary event ― New York Times Book Review

The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust' ― New York Times

About the Author

Art Spiegelman has been a staff artist and contributing editor at the New Yorker, as well as the cofounder/coeditor of RAW, the acclaimed magazine of avant-garde comics and graphics. In addition to Maus - which was awarded the Pulitzer Prize and twice nominated for the National Book Critics Circle Award - he is the author of Breakdowns and In the Shadow of No Towers. In January 2011, Art Spiegelman was awarded Le Grand Prix at the Angoulême International Comics Festival. From 2012 through 2014 a museum retrospective of his work, called Co-Mix, travelled to the Pompidou Center in Paris, the Ludwig Museum in Cologne, Germany, the Jewish Museum in New York, the Vancouver Art Gallery and the Art Gallery of Ontario. His most recent book is Si Lewen's Parade: An Artist's Oddyssey (2016). He lives in New York City with his wife, Françoise Mouly, and a cat named Voodoo.

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Product details

  • ASIN : 0141014083
  • Publisher : Penguin UK; 1st edition (2 October 2003)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 296 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 9780141014081
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0141014081
  • Item Weight : 664 g
  • Dimensions : 16.4 x 1.7 x 23.1 cm
  • Country of Origin : United Kingdom
  • Generic Name : BOOK
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 3,797 ratings

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
3,797 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from India

Reviewed in India on 25 January 2018
Verified Purchase
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 1 August 2017
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 23 February 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece in every sense of the word...
By Amritesh Mukherjee on 23 February 2021
""FRIENDS? Your Friends?  
If you lock them together in a room with no food for a week... 
...then you could see what it is, Friends!" 

Why does the holocaust hold such prominence decades later? What about it makes it so... so contemporary a theme, in literature, in arts, in social studies? 

We'll come back to that later. 

For now, hear my tale out, will ya?  

A happy man, with a wife I loved more than anything else, and a son, a product of our love. A flourishing business. I had all a man can hope for. 

The tides were changing. And they changed. Oh boy, how! 

We were stripped apart of everything: our dignity, our families, our freedom, and quite often, our lives.  

All gone. 

Why? 

A question that keeps oscillating in my mind, like a damn pendulum, until all I can feel is numbness. 

Was it because I was a Jew? Was it because Nazis were evil? 

Bullshit. I wish the explanation was that simple. 

Sometimes, it felt like we were little mice, escaping from the ever-looming jaws of the cats. But then, a mouse doesn't give away another's hiding place for a few favors, eh? And cats don't start a rebellion against the supreme cat too, nuh? 

I guess we're stuck to being humans. 

To answer my previous question, why IS the holocaust so influential? 
Because humanity, mate. Humanity in abundance, floating around everywhere. Pain. Despair. Anguish. Depression. Death. Struggle. Hope. 

And it never gets old." 

Imagine Dragons puts it best: 
"They say we're crazy 
They say we're crazy. 

It's who we are 
Doesn't matter if we've gone too far 
Doesn't matter if it's all okay 
Doesn't matter if it's not our day." 

This book. It's beautiful in a way that can't be penned. "If you read one book in your life, read THIS." This oft used statement fits perfectly for this magnum opus, a definite benchmark for graphic memoirs and holocaust literature. 

"Sigh. I'm not talking about YOUR book now, but look at how many books have already been written about the Holocaust. What's the point?  
People haven't changed...  
Maybe they need a newer, bigger Holocaust."
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 16 May 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in India on 8 May 2015
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Ashleigh @ A frolic through fiction
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 January 2017
Verified Purchase
19 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ella @ The Story Collector
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 April 2019
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Tristan Sherwin
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 February 2017
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Rosemary Standeven
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful graphic novel telling one man's struggle to survive the Holocaust
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 December 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Steven Louden
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but a very upsetting read in places.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: art books, fashion books, english novels