Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more.

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Curse So Dark and Lonely (The Cursebreaker Series) Hardcover – 29 January 2019

4.5 out of 5 stars 3,377 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from
Hardcover
₹ 1,485.00
click to open popover

Product description

Review

“Has everything you'd want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale: a finely-drawn fantasy world, a heroine rarely seen in fiction, and a tortured hero with a secret. I have only one complaint: I wish the sequel were already available!” ―Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of A SPARK OF LIGHT and SMALL GREAT THINGS

“Absolutely spellbinding. A Curse So Dark and Lonely expands on all the beloved themes of 'Beauty and the Beast' to create an intensely original retelling: one full of fierce new characters, wicked magic, and wondrous amounts of heart. Brigid Kemmerer doesn't just tell a story, she builds an entire world that you will never want to leave.” ―Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of CARAVAL and LEGENDARY

“I couldn't get this creative, suspenseful take on 'Beauty and the Beast' out of my head.” ―Sara Holland, New York Times bestselling author of EVERLESS

“Slow burning, big hearted, magical fun! I loved every minute.” ―New York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins

“Heartwarming, thoughtful, and romantic: Brigid Kemmerer took me on a magical journey with this dark fairy tale about growing up, falling in love, and making impossible choices. I can't wait to see where these characters go next.” ―Jodi Meadows, New York Times bestselling co-author of MY LADY JANE and MY PLAIN JANE

“Beautifully dark, filled with wild adventure and a modern-day heroine every reader will find a bit of themselves in.” ―Alexandra Christo, author of TO KILL A KINGDOM

“Harper is the undisputed hero . . . Avoiding disability inspiration tropes, she is a fallible, well-rounded character who fights for the vulnerable and resists being labeled as such herself despite how others perceive her. A fast-paced, richly detailed feminist epic.” ―Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This enthralling modern fable champions altruism while illustrating intimacy's relationship with honesty, respect, trust, and consent.” ―Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Fans of Cassandra Clare, Marissa Meyer, or Alex Flinn, as well as any reader looking to sink into a top-notch story with great characters, will want to read this book.” ―VOYA, starred review

“A complex, creative, and compelling reimagining of Beauty and the Beast.” ―School Library Connection, highly recommended

“A fresh twist on an old story. . . . Fans of Sarah J. Maas will be eager for this one.” ―Booklist

“Kemmerer knows how to blend a compelling story with a swoony romance, and the love triangle that inevitably develops . . . is organic and unforced because of strong characterization.” ―BCCB

“A unique world filled with fantasy and menace . . . will leave readers anxious to see what happens next.” ―School Library Journal

“Kemmerer merges modern sensibilities with an epic love story in this Beauty and the Beast retelling.” ―Shelf Awareness

“Readers looking for a different sort of coming-of-age story or teen protagonists grappling with complex situations will fall in love with this romance-tinged novel.” ―Starred review, Booklist on MORE THAN WE CAN TELL

“A must-have for any YA collection. Give to teens who enjoyed A Boy Called It by Dave Pelzer or The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.” ―Starred review, School Library Journal on MORE THAN WE CAN TELL

“This book is going to fly off the shelves to all teens, but it will hold special interest for those looking for a tear-jerking romance and serious readers of realistic fiction.” ―VOYA on LETTERS TO THE LOST

“A great concept, delivered in a compulsively readable package . . . romance readers will stay up late to finish this very satisfying and heartfelt read.” ―Booklist on LETTERS TO THE LOST

“Explores the ideas of carving identity out of pain and the way perception colors expectations.” ―BCCB on LETTERS TO THE LOST

“Readers will find themselves rooting for the real Declan to win Juliet's heart the same way his online persona did. Consider this tale of modern star-crossed love as a first purchase for YA collections.” ―School Library Journal on LETTERS TO THE LOST

About the Author

Brigid Kemmerer is the author of Letters to the Lost and the Elementals series. She was born in Omaha, Nebraska, though her parents quickly moved her all over the United States, from the desert in Albuquerque, New Mexico, to the lakeside in Cleveland, Ohio, and several stops in between, eventually settling near Annapolis, Maryland.

www.brigidkemmerer.com
@BrigidKemmerer

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Product details

  • Publisher : Bloomsbury YA (29 January 2019)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 496 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1681195089
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1681195087
  • Reading age : 13 - 17 years
  • Item Weight : 680 g
  • Dimensions : 16.18 x 4.19 x 23.72 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,377 ratings

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
3,377 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from India

Reviewed in India on 15 February 2019
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!
By Misty on 15 February 2019
Just received it.. Excited to start this. Such a lovely cover, so happy that I got the edition with the fully holographic spine 😍😍
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
16 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 27 October 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 22 May 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 29 November 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in India on 14 June 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Sarah
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull writing style and a stupid heroine killed this book for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 September 2019
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jane Kelsey
5.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK YOU MUST READ! A great Beauty and the Beast retelling with great rep!!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 April 2019
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Annabelle Heath
5.0 out of 5 stars First book I've binge read in ages!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Micky - bookphenomena
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong start and end with disappointment in the middle
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 December 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Readinginpyjamas
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely retelling of Beauty and The Beast
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 March 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse