Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Digital List Price:    352.40
Kindle Price:    277.84

Save    221.16 (44%)

inclusive of all taxes

includes free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
View eBooks cart Available in eBooks cart

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending Kindle eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send Kindle eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the India. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
An Ember in the Ashes (Ember Quartet, Book 1) by [Sabaa Tahir]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


An Ember in the Ashes (Ember Quartet, Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 3,603 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from
Kindle Edition
₹ 277.84

Product description

Review

Named one of the best books of the year by:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
The Wall Street Journal
Buzzfeed
LA Weekly
Bustle
Paste Magazine
Indigo
Suspense Magazine
The New York Public Library
Popsugar
Hypable

***

“This novel is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human—and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear.” —The Washington Post

“[An Ember in the Ashes] thrusts its readers into a world marred by violence and oppression, yet does so with simple prose that can offer moments of loveliness in its clarity. This complexity makes Ember a worthy novel—and one as brave as its characters.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Sabaa Tahir spins a captivating, heart-pounding fantasy.” —Us Weekly

An Ember in the Ashes mixes The Hunger Games with Game of Thrones...and adds a dash of Romeo and Juliet.” The Hollywood Reporter

Blew me away...This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic—expect to be completely transported.” —MTV.com

“Fast-paced, well-structured and full of twists and turnsAn Ember in the Ashes is an evocative debut that has left me invested in knowing what happens next.” —NPR
 
“Once you get caught up in the story, it’s addictive, and there’s no way you can put it down before you figure out what happens to the characters you have fallen for over the course of the 400 some-odd pages. So I didn’t.” —Bustle 
 
One thing I can say for sure: this is a page-turner. There comes a moment when it's impossible to put it down. Sabaa Tahir is a strong writer, but most of all, she's a great storyteller.” —The Huffington Post

This epic fantasy set in the Martial Empire has it all: danger and violence, secrets and lies, strong characters and forbidden romance and a touch of the supernatural.” —The Atlanta Journal-Constitution 

“A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny; and a villain who makes Cersei Lannister and Dolores Umbridge look like a pair of pathetic amateurs...An Ember in the Ashes is at the top of our must-read list for 2015.” —MTV.com

“Be prepared to be blown away by this fantasy-thriller-adventure.” —Girls’ Life

An Ember in the Ashes is a book that's too good to put down.” —RedEye
 
Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater's The Scorpio Races or Sarah Maas's Throne of Glass series…The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC!” —TeenVogue.com

“Tahir’s deft, polished debut alternates between two very different perspectives on the same brutal world, deepening both in the contrast. In a tale brimming with political intrigue and haunted by supernatural forces, the true tension comes from watching Elias and Laia struggle to decide where their loyalties lie.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
“Tahir’s world-building is wonderfully detailed and the setting is an unusual one for fantasy novels. All of her characters, even minor ones, are fully realized....For fans of Game of Thrones and of Melina Marchetta’s Finnikin of the Rock.” —School Library Journal
 
“An original, well-constructed fantasy world...truly engaging.” —Kirkus Reviews 
 
“An epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.” —Hypable.com

“First-time novelist Tahir has written an ambitious sword-and-sand adventure story that is notable for its suspense and scope.” —Booklist 
 
“Here's one of the year's most anticipated young-adult debuts.” —io9.com

I was so engrossed with this book that I missed a connecting flight. If that doesn’t convince you to read An Ember in the Ashes, I don’t know what will. An explosive, heartbreaking, epic debut that will keep you glued to the pages. I hope the world’s ready for Sabaa Tahir.” —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of Legend
 
“With An Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir shows us light in the darkness, hope in a world of despair, and the human spirit reaching for greatness in difficult times.” —#1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson
 
An Ember in the Ashes is a spectacular page turner that asks readers to consider how far they’d go to save the ones they love. Sabaa Tahir is the next superstar in young adult fiction and her debut is as cinematic as Gladiator and as high-stakes as Game of Thrones.”—Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s
 
A heart-pounding story of love and loss, with the most original world-building I’ve read all year. Deeply felt and deeply moving, I could not put it down.” —Margaret Stohl, New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures
 
“This electric debut is a pulse-pounding action-packed Romeo and Juliet story in a richly imagined world with a great twist and heroic characters you’ll root for and won’t stop thinking about.” —Melissa de la Cruz, New York Times bestselling author of Frozen and The Ring and the Crown
 

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Sabaa Tahir grew up in California’s Mojave Desert at her family’s eighteen-room motel. There, she spent her time devouring fantasy novels, raiding her brother’s comic book stash, and playing guitar badly. She began writing An Ember in the Ashes while working nights as a newspaper editor. She likes thunderous indie rock, garish socks, and all things nerd. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family. 

For more information, please visit Sabaa at SabaaTahir.com or on Twitter @SabaaTahir. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN : B00P5V4TCO
  • Publisher : HarperVoyager (28 April 2015)
  • Language : English
  • File size : 1711 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 465 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,603 ratings

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
3,603 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from India

Reviewed in India on 12 November 2017
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn that was so good
By Jane on 12 November 2017
OH Lord. What did I just read? I am speechless.

I can come right out and say that SABAA TAHIR IS ONE HELL OF A WRITER!! She owned my soul and played with my emotions in all possible ways with her words. And I loved every bit of it.

From start to finish, I was hooked, my interest towards the story did not falter one bit. I don't know what to say, I don't know where to start. I CAN MOST DEFINITELY SAY THAT THIS IS CLEARLY ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I'VE EVER READ, and I'm pretty damn sure that this series will be my favourite. From the way the story developed, how the characters were portrayed, to the emotions of the characters and the sequences involved, GAAWWD!! I'm triggered by it all. And I still can't wrap my head around the thought that this was her debut novel?! I am excited for every other book that she's going to give us in the future. I'LL BUY EM ALL!! I can't wait to dive into the next book. JEEZ I'M STILL HIGH FROM READING THAT!!
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
16 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 8 March 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written
By swetha mary ann c on 8 March 2021
Delivered in good condition.
The book is fast paced. Told in dual timelines, the book focuses on Laia, a scholar who faces the murder of her grandparents and is forced to go undercover as a slave in order to free her brother, and on Elias, who is the golden boy at the academy, but hates his life. Their paths cross ofcourse.
The whole premise was about trying to bring about change to the Martial rule that enslaved the scholars and resulted in their death or led them to slavery. Its beautifully written, and you find yourself turning the pages to know more.
However, I was not a fan f either if the character’s confused feelings for two other people of the opposite gender, one being the other.
Cannot wait to get the next book
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 25 October 2016
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 30 April 2021
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Helen
3.0 out of 5 stars A dark young adult fantasy that's easy to read and full of twists and turns
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 May 2017
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Z. V. Adams
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous start
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 April 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
The Alice Edition
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 November 2020
Verified Purchase
RS!
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected. Best of new writers.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 April 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Spyro
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 September 2018
Verified Purchase