Digital List Price:    2,246.07
Kindle Price:    1,696.00

Save    550.07 (24%)

inclusive of all taxes
View eBooks cart Available in eBooks cart

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending Kindle eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send Kindle eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the India. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle for Web.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

The Fall of Númenor: and Other Tales from the Second Age of Middle-earth by [J.R.R. Tolkien, Alan Lee, Brian Sibley]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Fall of Númenor: and Other Tales from the Second Age of Middle-earth Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 358 ratings

Price
New from
Kindle Edition
₹1,696.00
Paperback, Large Print
Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

Product description

Review

‘Physically beautiful and sometimes overwhelming in its power, this book is a grand compendium of all Tolkien said about the period when the foundations of The Lord of the Rings are laid’
John Garth,
THE GUARDIAN

‘It brings a Biblical grandeur to Tolkien’s fictional history’
WINTER IS COMING

‘A trove of source material about one of Middle-earth’s most intriguing and central back stories. The book is beautifully illustrated by Alan Lee and nimbly edited by Brian Sibley’
WASHINGTON POST

‘For those wishing to expand their understanding of Middle-earth and the incredible legend crafted by Tolkien, this is an essential piece to complete that puzzle’
BOOK REPORTER

‘How, given little over half a century of work, did one man become the creative equivalent of a people?’
THE GUARDIAN

‘Demanding to be compared with English mythologies… at times rises to the greatness of true myth’
FINANCIAL TIMES

‘A creation of singular beauty… magnificent in its best moments’
WASHINGTON POST

--This text refers to the audioCD edition.

About the Author

J.R.R.Tolkien (1892-1973) was a distinguished academic, though he is best known for writing The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and The Silmarillion, plus other stories and essays. His books have been translated into over 60 languages and have sold many millions of copies worldwide.



Brian Sibley is a noted writer and broadcaster best known in Tolkien circles for his work on the BBC’s epic 1981 radio serialisation of The Lord of the Rings, as well as books about the maps of Middle-earth and the making of The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit film trilogies. In 2022 he was the recipient of the Tolkien Society’s ‘Outstanding Contribution Award’.

--This text refers to the audioCD edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0B4FF4S4V
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ HarperCollins (10 November 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 43960 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 332 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 0008537836
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 358 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

J.R.R. Tolkien was born on 3rd January 1892. After serving in the First World War, he became best known for The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, selling 150 million copies in more than 40 languages worldwide. Awarded the CBE and an honorary Doctorate of Letters from Oxford University, he died in 1973 at the age of 81.

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
358 global ratings

Top reviews from India

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from India

Top reviews from other countries

vinusoma
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice reminder of how good the JRR Tolkien's legendarium is...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 14 November 2022
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
EMR
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 12 November 2022
Verified Purchase
Customer image
EMR
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 12 November 2022
This is a beautiful book, an absolute must for every Tolkien lovers bookshelf. All of the written content is already available in other published works but here Brian Sibley has used the Tale of Years from the Appendices of Lord of the Rings to organise all the various writings into a comprehensive timeline of the Second Age. The book is beautifully illustrated by Alan Lee with 11 colour plates and dozens and dozens of detailed pencil sketches. This is perfect for fans of Professor Tolkien and essential reading for those of us who wish to read the authentic definitive history of the Second Age.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars A Chronicle of Tolkiens Second Age
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 12 November 2022
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Tnwilk72
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 11 November 2022
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
F1_fan
2.0 out of 5 stars A nice book to look at but tedious to wade through.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 1 December 2022
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?