<Embed>
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Please enter your mobile phone number or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link", you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more.

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Fox and I: An Uncommon Friendship Hardcover – Import, 8 July 2021

3.5 out of 5 stars 44 ratings

Price
New from
Hardcover, Import
₹1,574.69
Paperback
₹1,258.00

Product description

Review

A tender, shrewd exploration of the redemption that comes when we start to know that we, whoever and wherever we are, are wild things, crucially defined by our relationship with the wild.

Charles Foster, author of Being a Beast and Being a Human

Intimate and poetic . . . . By paying ecstatic attention to grasses, insects, birds, and animals, Catherine Raven allows us to hear what nature is saying to us. Fox and I is essential reading for anyone concerned about the catastrophe human beings are inflicting on the environment from which they and all other creatures sprang. -- Stephen Batchelor, author of The Art of Solitude

This tale of wilderness, in the tradition of Thoreau and Steinbeck, is distinguished by a narrator who sees herself as one of the many creatures she lives among . . . . Catherine Raven has achieved something unique in the literature of nature-writing: genuine love for the wild within the rigor of scientific observation. The voice of this storyteller is startlingly original. I read it breathlessly. -- Andrei Codrescu

The observations of high-desert nature -- of wildlife, plants, landscapes, weather -- in this book are some of the best you will ever read. The story of Catherine Raven's and the fox's friendship charmed me and drew me in completely. -- Ian Frazier, author of Great Plains

A wise and intimate book about a solitary woman, a biologist by training, who befriends a fox. More than that, it's the tale of a human mind trained to be logical being touched by nature and coming to realize a greater truth. If Thoreau had read The Little Prince, he would have written Fox and I. -- Yann Martel, New York Times bestselling author of Life of Pi

Fox and I is a mesmerizing, beautifully written, and entirely unsentimental book about the connection amongst all things: the author and her fox friend, but also magpies, brown dogs, fawns, voles, and junipers. Catherine Raven helped me reorient myself in the universe; she encourages readers to stop, listen, and look at the landscapes around us without putting ourselves in the center of them. I learned as much about the meaning of friendship from this book as I have from any work of nonfiction that I've ever read. -- Will Schwalbe, New York Times bestselling author of The End of Your Life Book Club and Books for Living

Book Description

A captivating tale of a unique friendship between two different species, and of an individual who turns to nature when society ceases to make sense.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Short Books (8 July 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1780725094
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1780725093
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 420 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 14 x 3 x 22 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.5 out of 5 stars 44 ratings

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5
44 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from India

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from India

Top reviews from other countries

Miguel Cervantes
4.0 out of 5 stars lectura entretenida
Reviewed in Mexico on 4 September 2021
Verified Purchase
Kindle Customer
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing pages!
Reviewed in Australia on 8 August 2021
Verified Purchase
Brooke276
1.0 out of 5 stars Insufferable
Reviewed in the United States on 8 July 2021
Verified Purchase
32 people found this helpful
Report abuse
linda galella
4.0 out of 5 stars An unique & lovely story for
Reviewed in the United States on 6 July 2021
Verified Purchase
30 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Weagle
4.0 out of 5 stars An elequent ode to nature, foxes, and companionship
Reviewed in the United States on 28 July 2021
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse