₹315.00
  • M.R.P.: ₹499.00
  • You Save: ₹184.00 (37%)
  • Inclusive of all taxes
In stock.
1-Click ordering is not available.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
₹337.00
FREE Delivery on first order. Details
Sold by: Trans Infopreneur Inc
Sold by: Trans Infopreneur Inc
(1349 ratings)
90% positive over the last 12 months
In stock.
Shipping rates and Return policy
₹353.00
FREE Delivery on first order. Details
Sold by: uRead-Store
Sold by: uRead-Store
(35601 ratings)
89% positive over the last 12 months
In stock.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Have one to sell?

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Please enter your mobile phone number or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link", you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more.

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Gilded Ones (Gilded, 1) Paperback – 4 February 2021

4.6 out of 5 stars 1,153 ratings

Price
New from
Paperback
₹315.00
₹315.00
FREE delivery: Friday, Oct 22 on first order.
Fastest delivery: Tomorrow
Order within 18 hrs and 31 mins
Details

Save Extra with 4 offers

Cashback (2): Get ₹200 cashback on purchase of books, toys, video games, software, grooming or healthcare devices worth ₹2,000 or more only through prepaid payment method. See All
Bank Offer (11): 10% Instant Discount up to INR 1500 on Citibank Credit Card Transactions. Minimum purchase of INR 5000 See All
What is Pay on Delivery (Cash/Card)?
Pay on Delivery (Cash/Card) payment method includes Cash on Delivery (COD) as well as Debit card / Credit card / Net banking payments at your doorstep.
Amazon Delivered
Amazon directly manages delivery for this product. Order delivery tracking to your doorstep is available.
No-Contact Delivery

Delivery Associate will place the order on your doorstep and step back to maintain a 2-meter distance.

No customer signatures are required at the time of delivery.

For Pay-on-Delivery orders, we recommend paying using Credit card/Debit card/Netbanking via the pay-link sent via SMS at the time of delivery. To pay by cash, place cash on top of the delivery box and step back.

Enhance your purchase

Frequently bought together

  • The Gilded Ones (Gilded, 1)
  • +
  • An Ember in the Ashes: Book 1 (Ember Quartet)
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one. ― Buzzfeed

[A] stormingly good debut ― The Observer

Utterly transporting and on a massive scale, this is the new series you've been searching for. ― Stylist

The first in a fantasy trilogy with battles, betrayals and a search for identity. ― S Magazine

Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy. ― Refinery 29

This is an empowering read that you won't want to put down and that will be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike. ― Press Association

This story has real credibility and depth. To be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike. ― Irish Examiner

Namina has been called the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy so this is worth reading. ― The Irish News

About the Author

Namina Forna is a young adult novelist based in Los Angeles, and the author of the epic fantasy YA novel THE GILDED ONES. Originally from Sierra Leone, West Africa, she moved to the US when she was nine and has been traveling back and forth ever since. Namina loves building fantastical worlds and telling stories with fierce female leads.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Usborne Publishing Ltd; 1st edition (4 February 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 416 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1474959571
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1474959575
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 14 - 17 years
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 338 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.1 x 2.7 x 19.9 cm
  • Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ United Kingdom
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 1,153 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
1,153 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from India

Reviewed in India on 14 February 2021
Customer image
4.0 out of 5 stars Gods and Monsters in West African Fantasy
By Sapphire Bubble on 14 February 2021
Actual Rating: 3.5 stars

Content Warning(s) for the book: graphic descriptions of violence and murder, mutilation, torture, death of a family member, death of a family member due to illness, disownment, reference/discussion of rape, reference/discussion of child rape, fantasy bigotry/othering, racism, sexism

Representation in the book: west African inspired setting and cast, sapphic side character

Are we girls or are we demons? Are we going to die or are we going to survive?

The Gilded Ones is a brutal look at how religion is used as a tool of misogyny, queerphobia and other bigotry in a deeply patriarchal society. It deftly explores how humans twist and corrupt religious ideas to suit their own agenda; how greed and malfeasance run in the veins of those very institutions. It is daring with it approach, giving us graphic details of violence inflected upon Deka — violence that continues to haunt her and yet one that she accustomed even as she vows to never let it happen again.

The world of The Gilded Ones is smartly built, shimmering and splendid. It has a deep lore, the veins of it run through and pulse with bright imagination. It immediately draws you in with its morsels of information with the knowledge of much more lying dormant tickling your brain. The reader is eager to explore more.

I liked how this novel focuses so much on camaraderie, especially between the girls who have been ostracized and have faced the worst in society. As these girls learn not to fear but to embrace and, to an extent, celebrate the demons inside them in a society deeply entrenched in misogyny and controlling women, they also learn to trust and care for each other in a way that goes opposite to what that society expects of them. In the same vein, the romantic aspect of this book is developed carefully — giving it time and nourishment before it becomes a flame.

Even though I enjoyed much of the story, there were certain aspects that left me unsatisfied. Every time a new concept is introduced, its implementation happens instantly. I personally enjoy a training montage. It shows me that the protagonist and their associates worked hard for their skills and honed them with training. Even as we traverse worlds full of magic, the stories we read are deeply human. So, it is important that we see these protagonists go through the human process of learning and then becoming better, which was sorely missing from this book. Also, I found the ending to be a little rushed and confusing. Although it allows for this book to work as a standalone, it was unnecessary to wrap it up in a bow since this is indeed a series, in my opinion. There was also some mention of the author trying to subvert and oppose the gender binary that our world perpetuates so much, but I did not find much of that in this book. On the contrary, it seemed very much into the binary, as is expected of a patriarchal society, which was slightly disappointing.

Although, it does leave something to be desired, The Gilded Ones is a beautifully crafted piece of art that intrigued and delighted me. I found its themes of oppression, misogyny and racism to be presented in a way that resembled much of our present, past and future. I await the arrival of its sequel with bated breath, expecting it to also surprise and thrill me as this one did.

Thanks to TBR and Beyond Tours for having me on tour for this book and to Delacorte Pressfor providing me an e-ARC. All my opinions are my own and unaffected by this fact.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 1 June 2021
Reviewed in India on 29 May 2021
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars ~ “The GILDED Ones” is a fast-paced, bold, powerful, bold YA Fantasy Novel.
By thefurredreader on 29 May 2021
QOTD: “ The world we live in right now is not so different from the world in the GILDED ONES”.

~ What a delight it had been reading this book! This book managed to keep my heart racing throughout 💓

~ Set in the Kingdom of Otera, this story is about a sixteen year old girl named Deka from Irfut. There is a blood ceremony called the “Ritual of Purity” held for the village girls, if they bleed red, they belong. If they don’t bleed red, they are considered Impure and have to face the consequences. On the day of the Ritual of Purity Deka bleeds gold- the colour of a demon. Deka’s life changes in the most unforeseen circumstances, she has to deal with severe pain, suffering, violence from her father and the people of her village. While in prison, Deka is found by a mysterious woman who promises her an escape from her misery to a new life. Deka is expected to fight her way to join an army of girls like her with supernatural powers to protect the empire’s greatest threat. Deka’s journey to a new and free life is filled with mysteries, violence, trauma and love.

~ I love how powerfully feminist this book is, I also appreciate how issues of colourism and racism are dealt with in this story. I loved the development of female friendships, it’s positive and relatable. I liked the description and detailing of the world. This book does have a lot of graphic violence, but I truly enjoyed it. I would also like to mention that towards the end of the book, there is a letter by Namina Forna- Such a powerful and impactful the message to Young reader!

~ I thoroughly enjoyed reading “The GILDED ONES” and am eagerly waiting for Book 2- “The MERCILESS ONES”
I’d rate it a 5/5. Highly recommended for YA fantasy Novel Fans.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image

Top reviews from other countries

RebeccaBrenna
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful fantasy with heartbreaking moments
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 February 2021
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Rashmi
5.0 out of 5 stars Bold and powerful and utterly gripping
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 February 2021
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
David Jebb
4.0 out of 5 stars West-African inspired epic that lives up to the hype!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 February 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
bintu
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 February 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Bluntly Bookish
3.0 out of 5 stars Action-packed debut with a memorable cast of characters in need of some final editing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 May 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse