Digital List Price:    598.50
Kindle Price:    270.53

Save    2,400.47 (90%)

inclusive of all taxes
View eBooks cart Available in eBooks cart

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending Kindle eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send Kindle eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the India. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Iron Lake (20th Anniversary Edition): A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series Book 1) by [William Kent Krueger]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Iron Lake (20th Anniversary Edition): A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 6,268 ratings

Price
New from
Kindle Edition
₹270.53

Books in this series: (19 books)
Complete Series

Product description

Review

"Krueger's debut offers wonderful characters...Sure to appeal to fans of Nevada Barr and Tony Hillerman." Starred review --Booklist --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Amazon.com Review

Short story specialist William Kent Krueger brings a fresh take on some familiar elements and a strong sense of atmosphere to his first mystery. Chicago cop Cork O'Connor and his lawyer-wife Jo moved back to his northern Minnesota hometown of Aurora to improve their quality of life, but it hasn't worked. Cork became the local sheriff, but lost an election after a disagreement between local Indians and whites over fishing rights turned deadly. Then his marriage broke up, with Jo becoming a successful advocate for tribal rights and Cork reduced to running a scruffy restaurant and gift shop. As the book starts, Cork is feeling guilty about sleeping with a warm-hearted waitress and still hoping to get back with Jo and their three children. Drawn into the disappearance of an Indian newsboy, which coincides with the apparent suicide of a former judge, O'Connor clashes with a newly elected senator--the judge's son and Jo's lover--as well as with the town's new sheriff and some tribal leaders getting rich on gambling concessions. Krueger quickly makes Cork a real person beneath his genre garments, mostly by showing him trying to deal with the needs of his two very different teenage daughters. And the author's deft eye for the details of everyday life brings the town and its peculiar problems to vivid life. --Dick Adler --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B000FC0QBQ
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Atria Books (14 July 1999)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 7899 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 464 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 0671016970
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 6,268 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Raised in the Cascade Mountains of Oregon, William Kent Krueger briefly attended Stanford University—before being kicked out for radical activities. After that, he logged timber, worked construction, tried his hand at freelance journalism, and eventually ended up researching child development at the University of Minnesota. He currently makes his living as a full-time author. He’s been married for over 40 years to a marvelous woman who is a retired attorney. He makes his home in St. Paul, a city he dearly loves.

Krueger writes a mystery series set in the north woods of Minnesota. His protagonist is Cork O’Connor, the former sheriff of Tamarack County and a man of mixed heritage—part Irish and part Ojibwe. His work has received a number of awards, including the Minnesota Book Award, the Loft-McKnight Fiction Award, the Anthony Award, the Barry Award, the Dilys Award, and the Friends of American Writers Prize. His last five novels were all New York Times bestsellers.

"Ordinary Grace," his stand-alone novel published in 2013, received the Edgar Award, given by the Mystery Writers of America in recognition for the best novel published in that year. "Manitou Canyon," number fifteen in his Cork O’Connor series, was released in September 2016. Visit his website at www.williamkentkrueger.com.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
6,268 global ratings

Top reviews from India

There are 0 reviews and 6 ratings from India

Top reviews from other countries

Cafelattedoris
4.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy, corruption, scandal in a truly atmospheric novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 20 February 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ninaminacat
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a murderer mystery
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 23 January 2018
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
William Donelson
4.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, full of wonderful prose, living characters, hidden pain.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 8 October 2017
Verified Purchase
Bertolt
4.0 out of 5 stars and I'm glad. This is good
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 9 March 2016
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Elaine Tomasso
4.0 out of 5 stars A good start
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?