₹ 3,571.00
  • M.R.P.: ₹ 4,859.00
  • You Save: ₹ 1,288.00 (27%)
  • Inclusive of all taxes
Usually dispatched in 1 to 3 weeks.
Sold and fulfilled by Global Klamp.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
₹ 3,574.00
FREE Delivery.
Sold by: #BookWala
Sold by: #BookWala
(289 ratings)
87% positive
Usually dispatched in 6 to 10 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
₹ 11,556.00
+ ₹ 229.02 Delivery charge
Sold by: University Bookstores Boston INDIA
Sold by: University Bookstores Boston INDIA
Just launched
Usually dispatched in 1 to 3 weeks.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more.

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Lost Art of Mixing Hardcover – Import, 24 January 2013

4.4 out of 5 stars 519 ratings

Price
New from
Hardcover, Import
₹ 3,571.00
₹ 3,571.00
Paperback
₹ 909.00
FREE delivery: July 21 - 28 Details
EMI starts at ₹168 per month. EMI starts at ₹168. No Cost EMI available EMI options

Save Extra with 3 offers

No Cost EMI: Avail No Cost EMI on select cards for orders above ₹3000 Details
Cashback: 5% back with Amazon Pay ICICI Bank credit card for Prime members. 3% back for others. Get up to ₹600 back on card approval Details

Enhance your purchase

Frequently bought together

  • The Lost Art of Mixing
  • +
  • The School of Essential Ingredients: 1 (A School of Essential Ingredients Novel)
  • +
  • House Lessons: Renovating a Life
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items are dispatched sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

Praise for THE LOST ART OF MIXING
 
"Erica Bauermeister's characters are alive and savory as the food she describes so well . . . Most chapters in The Lost Art of Mixing could stand independently, but blended together, they make a memorable novel.  The Seattle author reminds us how the rituals surrounding food sustain us emotionally and spiritually by giving us opportunities to gather as family and community, sharing more fully in one another's lives by taking the time to break bread together."—Portland Oregonian

“The individual stories are so compelling and woven together so seamlessly that I fell in love with every one of them.  Beyond that, I think the author must have strung the words together with magic because they left me mesmerized.”—First for Women
 
"Harrowing and graceful at once, this is some of Bauermeister's strongest writing."—The Seattle Times

“Erica Bauermeister writes prose delicious enough to devour. Like a fine meal, The Lost Art of Mixing will leave you warm in your belly, full in your heart, and very, very pleased. Like all the best writers and cooks, Bauermeister comforts with the familiar—in this case, a return to a cast of beloved characters—even as she sprinkles in the unexpected and new. The results are lip-smackingly good. You might even find yourself going back for seconds.”—Tiffany Baker, New York Times-bestselling author of The Little Giant of Aberdeen County
 
Erica Bauermeister mixes gorgeous prose, luscious detail, and heartfelt characters -- new friends and old -- to reveal just how colorful and warm life in the rainy Pacific Northwest can be.”—Laurie Frankel, author of Goodbye for Now
 
Using Lillian’s restaurant as the hub for a cast of widely varied characters, Bauermeister explores the intersections of community, food, belonging, and memory. With Isabelle, the elderly matriarch whose faculties are rapidly fading; Chloe, the feisty sous-chef who’s positive she’ll never be able to trust a man; and other friends and acquaintances, an interconnected and heartfelt story unwinds. In her third novel, Bauermeister displays her admirable talent for ensemble fiction, allowing various characters to share narration duties. Fans of Deborah Copaken Kogan and Meg Waite Clayton will enjoy the novel’s intertwined narratives and shared experiences. Warm, funny, and deeply comforting, The Lost Art of Mixing is a delight.”—Booklist
 
“Bauermeister’s prose is strong, particularly when it comes to food, and her novel brings to life the adage ‘be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.’”Publishers Weekly

Praise for Erica Bauermeister

The School of Essential Ingredients is a delicate, meltingly lovely hymn to food and friendship.  Lillian's kitchen, full of buttery light and gorgeous smells, is a place where the world works the way it should.  You'll want to tuck yourself into one warm corner of it and stay all day.”—Marisa de los Santos, author of Love Walked In and Belong to Me
 
“The perfect recipe for escaping from life’s stresses, from savoring the delicious ingredients of Lillian’s recipes to the calm and thoughtful rhythm of Erica Bauermeister’s luminous prose.”—Kate Jacobs, author of The Friday Night Knitting Club
 
“Fans of Maeve Binchy and Laura Esquirel are going to fall in love with Erica Bauermeister's beautiful story.  I know I have. The School of Essential Ingredients is exquisitely written and heartbreakingly delicious.  It's a luscious slice of life...and you will enjoy every bite.”—Sarah Addison Allen, New York Times bestselling author of Garden Spells and The Sugar Queen
 
School is a tale where strangers unite over food, each rediscovering their own essence via cooking’s wonders and pleasures…. Bauermeister manages to keep them fresh and their stories enticing though a series of achingly real vignettes and devastating flashbacks. And her cooking descriptions (fresh crab, handmade tortillas, luscious fondue, pasta sauce simmered for hours, a to-die-for tiramisu) will compel readers to hit the farmers market and run for the kitchen.”—The Seattle Times
 
“Food Network fans will devour this first novel about a whimsical cooking school run by a gentle chef with a fierce passion for food.”People

About the Author

Erica Bauermeister is the author of The School of Essential Ingredients and Joy for Beginners. She lives in Seattle with her family.

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ G.P. Putnam's Sons (24 January 2013)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 288 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0399162119
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0399162114
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 408 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 15.24 x 2.54 x 22.86 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 519 ratings

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
519 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top review from India

Reviewed in India on 6 January 2015
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Rhoni
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this sequel to The School of Essential Ingredients
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 May 2018
Verified Purchase
Elizabethd
4.0 out of 5 stars Very much enjoyed.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 November 2015
Verified Purchase
cnfree
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase
Lissa U
4.0 out of 5 stars Collection Complete!
Reviewed in Canada on 3 October 2019
Verified Purchase
J. Kuzmitz
2.0 out of 5 stars This sequel book is just not as good as the first
Reviewed in the United States on 5 November 2020
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse