Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Digital List Price:    418.95
Kindle Price:    215.46

Save    583.54 (73%)

inclusive of all taxes

includes free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
View eBooks cart Available in eBooks cart

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
My Name Is Red by [Orhan Pamuk, Erdag M Goknar]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


My Name Is Red Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 305 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from
Kindle Edition
₹ 215.46
Paperback
₹ 449.00

Length: 475 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Freedom Sale
Up to 80% off on bestselling eBooks Shop now

Product description

From Booklist

A dead man, a dog, a murderer, a coin, two lovers, and a tree take turns narrating this tale, which is Pamuk's follow-up to the well-reviewed but little read The New Life (1997). Set in sixteenth-century Istanbul, the novel is equal parts mystery, love story, and a philosophical discussion on the nature of art and artistic vision. Two men have been killed: Elegant, a miniaturist engaged (with others) on a book project glorifying the life of the sultan, and Enishte, the man who hired the artists to do the book. During a trip to Venice, Enishte became particularly entranced with the new Italian painting, particularly its use of perspective and figurative art. He urged his employees to adapt the new art form in their illustrations of the grand book they are producing. Black, Enishte's nephew, wants to win the hand of Enishte's daughter, Shekure, which he can only do by solving the murders. This intellectual mystery will appeal to fans of Eco, Pears, and Perez-Reverte. Nancy Pearl
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Review

It embraces detective fiction, artistic disquisition and psychological thriller. Above all, the reader is treated to an extraordinary plangent lament for principles of craftsmanship which history has buried and which fashion does not value., Independent on Sunday

Far from being a mere "historical novel", it has unforgettable narrative drive that unites past and present, as well as the high art with popular appeal which has made Pamuk into Turkey's greatest living writer., The Guardian --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
305 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
Reviewed in India on 11 July 2016
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 19 May 2016
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 9 January 2017
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 27 December 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 23 March 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in India on 20 October 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 17 July 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in India on 8 May 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

charlie k
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 February 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
jklm
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the different 'voices' used to drive the story along
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 September 2016
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Nitareads
5.0 out of 5 stars Art and history entwined
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 October 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Miss. Blackmore
5.0 out of 5 stars Two artistic points of view shape this 16th century murder mystery.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars He is one of my all time favourite. Brilliant.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Dave Donnan
5.0 out of 5 stars Very fine novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit tough to get into, but got there and enjoyed it in the end
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 December 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Pete Smith
5.0 out of 5 stars A present for someone else
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 February 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Elizabeth Taylor
4.0 out of 5 stars An illuminating read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 September 2002
Verified Purchase
19 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Anna
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad story, a difficult read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 August 2013
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Dr.A.Dyson
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant writing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 June 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
brigidof maidstone
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 February 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
L. J. Adlington
1.0 out of 5 stars Very hard going had to move on to something enjoyable to read as it was depressing me to waste anymore time on it
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 September 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Parth Awasthi
4.0 out of 5 stars Great storytelling, some lost in translation
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 August 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
PLJ Watford
3.0 out of 5 stars Good yarn
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 February 2017
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
click to open popover