₹899.00
  • Inclusive of all taxes
Only 2 left in stock.
Sold by Trans Infopreneur Inc and Delivered by Amazon.
1-Click ordering is not available.
<Embed>
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Please enter your mobile phone number or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link", you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more.

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Red, White, and Whole Hardcover – 2 February 2021

4.9 out of 5 stars 39 ratings

Price
New from
Hardcover
₹899.00
₹899.00
FREE delivery: Tuesday, Sep 28 Details
Fastest delivery: Sunday, Sep 26

Save Extra with 3 offers

Bank Offer (2): Get up to Rs 1250 Amazon Pay Gift Card with Citi Credit EMI transactions See All
No Cost EMI: Avail No Cost EMI on select cards for orders above ₹3000 Details
Amazon Delivered
Amazon directly manages delivery for this product. Order delivery tracking to your doorstep is available.
No-Contact Delivery

Delivery Associate will place the order on your doorstep and step back to maintain a 2-meter distance.

No customer signatures are required at the time of delivery.

For Pay-on-Delivery orders, we recommend paying using Credit card/Debit card/Netbanking via the pay-link sent via SMS at the time of delivery. To pay by cash, place cash on top of the delivery box and step back.

Enhance your purchase

Frequently bought together

  • Red, White, and Whole
  • +
  • When Stars are Scattered
  • +
  • My Life in Dog Years
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items are dispatched sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

"This deeply memorable coming-of-age story weaves Indian mythology with the relatable modern story of Reha, as she grapples with identity, family, and what it means to truly be home." -- Joy McCullough, author of Blood Water Paint; A Field Guide to Getting Lost; and We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire

“I felt this novel in verse in my bones. An important book, it will change how young readers see their world. And that's the best kind of book to read at any age.” -- Jane Yolen, author of The Devil's Arithmetic, Briar Rose, and Mapping the Bones

"This is a sweet, gentle story about love and loss, individualism and community, friendship and family, belonging and longing to live up to one's dreams. In Reha, LaRocca has created a relatable protagonist who feels caught between two cultures, but ultimately finds her own way." -- Padma Venkatraman, award-winning author of The Bridge Home and A Time To Dance

"Red, White, and Whole is the lyrical and poignant journey of a first generation Indian American girl growing up in the eighties. LaRocca weaves together a beautiful mix of themes-- identity, belonging, love, devastating loss, and eighties pop music rendered in seamless verse. A book I wish I had growing up in the eighties!"   -- Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Night Diary

"Infused with science, 80s music, and the struggles and joys of navigating middle school when you live in two different worlds, Red, White, and Whole is delightfully real and achingly beautiful. Reha’s story grabbed my heart from the first pages and never let go."  -- Kate Messner, author of Breakout and Chirp

“Truly, one of the most heart-expanding stories ever, filled with kindness, music, mythology, all of those things. But above all, here is a story of love, and the ways in which it transcends nationalities, age, science, and fear. In LaRocca’s gifted hands, her Reha shows us how to live in the world, even when it feels divided, even then.” -- Kathi Appelt, National Book Award finalist and Newbery Honor-winning author of The Underneath and Keeper

"This book is a marvel — at once so rich and so spare." -- Ali Benjamin, National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of The Thing About Jellyfish and The Next Great Paulie Fink

"The seamless blend of ancient Indian folklore and modern western storytelling makes this winner a standout. Red, White, and Whole gets my vote." -- Nikki Grimes, author of Ordinary Hazards and Garvey's Choice

“LaRocca’s historical novel in verse takes the reader through Reha’s past and present, flowing as seamlessly as many of the songs often referred to within the poems. Readers will be changed by her story.” -- Booklist (starred review)

“LaRocca showcases the best of what verse can do, telling a story that is spare, direct and true, every word and idea placed with intentional care. A sensitive coming-of-age story with all the makings of a new middle grade classic.” -- BookPage (starred review)

“An intimate novel that beautifully confronts grief and loss.” -- Kirkus Reviews

“Brimming with warmth. An approachable account of negotiating identity and of struggling with loss.”
-- Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Perfect for fans of Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga and Full Cicada Moon by Marilyn Hilton.” -- School Library Journal

“This verse novel weaves together complex narrative strands with sophistication. Give this emotionally powerful novel to immigrant, third-culture kids or anyone experiencing grief and loss.” -- Horn Book Magazine

About the Author

Rajani LaRocca's debut middle grade novel, Midsummer's Mayhem, was a Kirkus Best Book of 2019, an Indies Introduce selection, and an Indie Next pick. Rajani was born in India, immigrated to the U.S. when she was a baby, and grew up in Louisville, Kentucky. A graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School, she practices medicine and lives outside Boston with her family. Visit her at www.rajanilarocca.com.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Quill Tree Books (2 February 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 224 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 006304742X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0063047426
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 8 - 12 years
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 312 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.97 x 2.26 x 20.96 cm
  • Country of Origin ‏ : ‎ USA
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.9 out of 5 stars 39 ratings

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5
39 global ratings
5 star
89%
4 star
11%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from India

Reviewed in India on 14 July 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in India on 9 February 2021
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars My 2021 Favourite 💝
By Reading_Tam_Ishly on 9 February 2021
***It's just that I cannot stop crying 😢
*2021 favourite*

"No matter where I go,
America or India,
I don't quite fit."
.
.
.
"I am not expected to like boys,
I am not expected to date.
But all day long on the radio, people sing about falling in love,
about hearts breaking and mending
and breaking again.
And I wonder what it would be like
to follow mine."
.
.
.

*For those who don't want spoilers of Star Wars, give this book a miss if you can.

(*When books spoil things for you when it guesses every single person is well versed with Star Wars. FYI, I have yet to read ir watch the series or whatever it is 😩)
.
.
.
Amar Chitra Kathas!
Amen.

Kudos, author for bringing it up.
.
.
.

*The story deals heavily with the themes of immigrants, battling cancer, death and grief.

I know this story has taken a piece of my heart.

Such a good, memorable read.

The story is so close to my heart now because I know what it means to have someone close to you battling cancer.

2021, I love you.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
Reviewed in India on 2 August 2021
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars One for all ages
By Tehmeena Salam on 2 August 2021
I completed this beauty some days back. A short, beautiful and heartfelt tale of a girl named Reha. She is the only child of Indian parents who moved to America. She, who is stuck between two worlds questions....if the Indian world is hers or the American one?

The story revolves around her questions, and finding of answers....and then turns into a heartbreaking tale of a mother and daughter. Later Reha's mother is diagnosed with Leukaemia.....whether she survives or not? Whether she understands her daughter and if Reha gets her answers? Everything is explained with its turn of emotions.

I completed enjoyed the book. The title Red, White and Whole .....depicts the human blood. This idea was a very beautiful one. The writing style is amazing and ihe take gripped it until the end.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image

Top reviews from other countries

B. J. Neary
5.0 out of 5 stars Double life highs and lows- middle grade must read
Reviewed in the United States on 22 February 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Julie Kennard
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Reviewed in the United States on 22 March 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
mommylovesbooks
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is brilliant and beautiful - I hope everyone chooses to read Reha's story.
Reviewed in the United States on 18 February 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is brilliant and beautiful - I hope everyone chooses to read Reha's story.
Reviewed in the United States on 18 February 2021
Newly released Red, White and Whole is a beautiful middle grade book - endearing, moving, heartbreaking and hopeful. Set in the 1980s, we follow only child Reha’s personal journey as she feels torn between her two worlds - her life at school where she is the only Indian American student and her life at home with her family and their Indian community. A novel written in verse, the story immediately draws the reader in to feel how this teen’s world is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

This book weaves together many themes including a story of love and loss, kindness from friends and family, music from the 80s, Indian mythology, the human side of the medical industry and the struggles of navigating middle school, to name a few. Reha is a beautiful character and I know many children (and adults) will love reading her story.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
Andrea
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully crafted and utterly superb
Reviewed in the United States on 12 February 2021
Verified Purchase
S.R. Shamsi
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful & Lyrical Middle Grade Novel
Reviewed in the United States on 15 February 2021
Verified Purchase