Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Digital List Price:    404.46
Kindle Price:    217.23

Save    369.77 (63%)

includes VAT*
View eBooks cart Available in eBooks cart

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller by [Morris, Heather]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 102 ratings

See all 18 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from
Kindle
   217.23

Length: 293 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Product description

Review

“Based on a true story, the wrenching yet riveting tale of Lale’s determination to survive the camp with Gita is a moving testament to the power of kindness, ingenuity, and hope.”
  (People)

“Like the Nobel Prize-winning author Elie Wiesel’s Night, Morris’ work takes us inside the day-to-day workings of the most notorious German death camp. Over the course of three years, Morris interviewed Lale, teasing out his memories and weaving them into her heart-rending narrative of a Jew whose unlikely forced occupation as a tattooist put him in a position to act with kindness and humanity in a place where both were nearly extinct.” (BookPage)

“The Tattooist of Auschwitz is the story of hope and survival against incredible odds and the power of love.” (Popsugar)

The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document.. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.” (Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project)

“What an extraordinary and important book this is. We need as many memories of the Holocaust as we can retain, and this is a moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war.” (International bestseller Jill Mansell)

“As many interviews as I did with Holocaust survivors for the Shoah Foundation and as many devastating testimonies as I heard, I could not stop reading THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ—an extraordinary story of love so fierce it sustained people enduring the unimaginable. Read it, share it, remember it.” (Jenna Blum, NYT and international bestselling author of Those Who Save Us and The Lost Family )

“To many, this book will be most appreciated for its powerful evocation of the everyday horrors of life as a prisoner in a concentration camp, while others will be heartened by the novel’s message of how true love can transcend even the most hellishly inhuman environments. This is a perfect novel for book clubs and readers of historical fiction.” (Publishers Weekly)

“..this is a powerful, gut-wrenching tale that is hard to shake off.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“Although one might suspect that there’s far more to his past than is revealed here, much of Lale’s story’s complexity makes it onto the page. And even though it’s clear that Lale will survive, Morris imbues the novel with remarkable suspense.”
 
(Booklist)

Product Description

**4 MILLION COPIES SOLD WORLDWIDE**

For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances.

I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart.

In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust.

Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too.

So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz.

-----

Heather Morris is on tour in the UK this autumn - for details see @ZaffreBooks on Twitter

-----

'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion

'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell

'A sincere . . . moving attempt to speak the unspeakable' Sunday Times

From the Publisher


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2424 KB
  • Print Length: 293 pages
  • Publisher: Zaffre (11 January 2018)
  • Sold by: Amazon Asia-Pacific Holdings Private Limited
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B074CG2SGV
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Customer Reviews: 4.5 out of 5 stars 80 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #815 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
102 customer ratings

By customer groups & interests
Literary Fiction
4.5
Fiction Books
4.3

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

80 customer reviews

3 October 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
review image
29 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
7 January 2019
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
review image
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
3 September 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

click to open popover