Select delivery location
Share
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more.

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Thank You, Omu! Hardcover – Picture Book, 2 October 2018

4.9 out of 5 stars 813 ratings

Price
New from
Hardcover, Picture Book
₹1,195.62

10 Days Replacement Only

Return Reason Return Period Return Policy
Physical Damage, Defective, Wrong, or Missing item 10 days from delivery Replacement
Returns are subject to the seller's approval. You can also claim a refund by contacting customer service.

Product description

Review

A 2019 Caldecott Honor Book
Winner of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award
An ALA Children's Notables List Selection 2019

CCBC Choices 2019
A New York Times Notable Children's Book of 2018
A Bank Street College Best Children's Book of 2018
A Publishers' Weekly Best Book of 2018
A Boston Globe Best Children's Book of 2018
A
School Library Journal Best Book of 2018
A
New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice Staff Pick
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2018
2019 E.B. White Read-Aloud Award Finalist
Jumpstart Read for the Record Selection 2019


[*] "A memorable tale of community and the unexpected rewards of sharing."―
School Library Journal, starred review


[*] "A lovely story of giving and community founded in Nigerian culture. Delectable."
Kirkus Reviews, starred review


[*] "Mora [is] a major new talent.... Rhythmic, refrainlike...this sweet story of inclusivity, gratitude, and delicious fellowship is also a feast for the eyes."
Publishers Weekly, starred review


"A great choice...for introducing the concept of sharing."―
Booklist

"A joyous homage... Mora's art casually yet vividly reminds readers of the diversity we encounter all around us, presenting her characters in all hues while acknowledging multiple languages in various cut-outs throughout."―
Shelf Awareness


"[The illustrations] will have toddlers reaching out to grab them."―
The New York Times Book Review

"Ideal...to use any time sharing is the theme."
The Horn Book


"All at once fresh and like a classic folktale."―
The Washington Post

Book Description

A generous woman is rewarded by her community in this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for the Thanksgiving season, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; Illustrated edition (2 October 2018)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 40 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0316431249
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0316431248
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 4 - 8 years
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 473 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 23.81 x 0.95 x 28.89 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.9 out of 5 stars 813 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Oge Mora graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in illustration. Her debut picture book, Thank You, Omu!, was a Caldecott Honor, a New York Times Notable Book and Editors' Choice, and a Junior Library Guild selection. She lives in Providence, Rhode Island, and invites you to visit her website at www.ogemora.com.

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5
813 global ratings
5 star
94%
4 star
5%
3 star
1%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Top reviews from India

Reviewed in India on 26 July 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a book with a simplistic, heartwarming storyline.
Reviewed in India on 26 July 2021
Thank you, Omu!; an award-winning book that helps generate gratitude and generosity most simply.
Oge Mora‘s priceless book is one of those that hits the chord in the very first read, a book that promptly softens your heart and makes the soul smile.
It's a book with a simplistic, heartwarming storyline. Omu prepares a scrumptious thick red stew in a big fat pot for her perfect meal. As the stew cooks, its irresistible aroma attracts everyone in the neighbourhood. Omu generously shares her meal with everyone.
In the end, there is nothing but an empty pot. Will she still be able to have the best dinner of her life?! As she sits saddened, there's a knock on the door. A little boy comes with a thank you note for Omu. How the community gathers to show gratitude for Omu’s magnanimity is particularly touching.
This book made me all nostalgic, for it revolves around the perfect ingredients- food & love.
It is often difficult for children to share things that they love. This story beautifully sensitises them to what joy selfless acts of kindness bring when showered with gratitude.
The book is charismatic, not only because of the story but eye-catching artwork.
A dash of kindness can make this world a brighter place!
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 6 March 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in India on 7 July 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Red Bus Book Lover
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful cumulative tale
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 May 2019
Verified Purchase
CB
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Favourite
Reviewed in Canada on 20 October 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Joseph Deudqfa
5.0 out of 5 stars Very great book. Totally recommend it
Reviewed in France on 27 August 2020
Verified Purchase
Kristin
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel good with a lesson
Reviewed in Canada on 9 June 2020
Verified Purchase
N. White
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully written and illustrated intergenerational story about the value of sharing.
Reviewed in the United States on 19 December 2018
Verified Purchase
31 people found this helpful
Report abuse