<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Please enter your mobile phone number or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link", you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more.

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Tropic of Serpents: A Memoir by Lady Trent (The Lady Trent Memoirs, 2) Hardcover – Import, 4 March 2014

4.6 out of 5 stars 222 ratings

Price
New from
Hardcover, Import
₹5,469.00

Product description

Review

“This, the second of Isabella's retrospective memoirs, is as uncompromisingly honest and forthright as the first, narrated in Brennan's usual crisp, vivid style, with a heroine at once admirable, formidable and captivating. Reader, lose no time in making Isabella's acquaintance.” ―Kirkus, starred review

“Saturated with the joy and urgency of discovery and scientific curiosity.” ―Publishers Weekly, starred review on A Natural History of Dragons

“If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book.” ―RT Book Reviews on A Natural History of Dragons

“Her Ladyship is a determined and canny woman in search of dragons--I wholeheartedly approve!” ―Melanie Rawn, bestselling author of Touchstone, on A Natural History of Dragons

About the Author

MARIE BRENNAN is an anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for material. She is the author of several acclaimed fantasy novels including A Natural History of Dragons; The Onyx Court Series: Midnight Never Come, In Ashes Lie, A Star Shall Fall, and With Fate Conspire; Warrior; and Witch. Her short stories have appeared in more than a dozen print and online publications.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Tor Books; First edition (4 March 2014)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 336 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0765331977
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0765331977
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 399 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 16.13 x 3.07 x 21.21 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 222 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Marie Brennan is a former anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for inspiration. She has recently misapplied her professors' hard work to the short novel DRIFTWOOD and TURNING DARKNESS INTO LIGHT, a sequel to the Hugo Award-nominated Victorian adventure series The Memoirs of Lady Trent. The first book of that series, A NATURAL HISTORY OF DRAGONS, was a finalist for the World Fantasy Award. Her other works include the Doppelganger duology, the urban fantasy Wilders series, the Onyx Court historical fantasies, the Varekai novellas, and nearly sixty short stories, as well as the New Worlds series of worldbuilding guides. Together with Alyc Helms as M.A. Carrick, she is the author of the upcoming Rook and Rose epic fantasy trilogy, beginning with THE MASK OF MIRRORS in January 2021. For more information, visit swantower.com, Twitter @swan_tower, or her Patreon at www.patreon.com/swan_tower.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
222 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from India

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from India

Top reviews from other countries

SC
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 July 2019
Verified Purchase
K. Myers
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic journey which one does not want to see end.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 February 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
lizc
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 November 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Karen
3.0 out of 5 stars A believable dragon's tale
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Stephanie G.
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 April 2020
Verified Purchase