Buying Options

Digital List Price:    628.95
Kindle Price:    477.85

Save    151.10 (24%)

inclusive of all taxes

includes free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
View eBooks cart Available in eBooks cart

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending Kindle eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send Kindle eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the India. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Please enter your mobile phone number or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link", you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Turning Darkness into Light: A Natural History of Dragons book by [Marie Brennan]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Turning Darkness into Light: A Natural History of Dragons book Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 123 ratings

Price
New from
Kindle Edition
₹477.85
Hardcover
₹4,867.99

Great Indian Festival
Up to 80% Off on Popular eBooks Shop now

Product description

Review

Praise for Marie Brennan and The Memoirs of Lady Trent Series

"These chronicles have the power of fabulous and historic voyages, along with a wry wit that refuses to accept the standard notions of any era―past, present, or future."―Locus on The Memoirs of Lady Trent series

“Isabella, Lady Trent, narrates her astounding adventures from volume to volume, blending Victorian pastiche and alternate-world fantasy with a distinctly pulp sensibility…now is the time to get acquainted.”―NPR on The Voyage of the Basilisk

"This mix of scientific and [fantastic] remains in fine form." ―Publishers Weekly, on In the Labyrinth of Drakes

"Smart and nuanced...Overwhelmingly fun and a perfectly delightful [summer] read."―io9 on The Tropic of Serpents

"Uncompromisingly honest and forthright [and] narrated in Brennan's usual crisp, vivid style.... Reader, lose no time in making Isabella's acquaintance." ―Kirkus Reviews (starred review), on The Tropic of Serpents

"If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book." ―RT Book Reviews on A Natural History of Dragons

"Discoveries about the connections between dragons and humans mix with bone-punk technology, and revelations crash like waves in a satisfying conclusion." ―Publishers Weekly on Voyage of the Basilisk

"Told in the style of a Victorian memoir, courageous, intelligent and determined Isabella's account is colorful, vigorous and absorbing."―Kirkus Reviews, on A Natural History of Dragons

"Saturated with the joy and urgency of discovery and scientific curiosity."Publishers Weekly, (starred review), on A Natural History of Dragons

--This text refers to the paperback edition.

About the Author

Marie Brennan is Professor of Education at Victoria University, Australia, and a former Dean of Education at the University of South Australia. She is currently leading the final year of a major Australian Research Council grant (LP100200499) Renewing the teaching profession in regional areas through community partnerships and participating in the Australian study of the Work of Teacher Educators (WOTE). --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07VCBCS8K
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Titan Books (20 August 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1160 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 415 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 123 ratings

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
123 global ratings
5 star
70%
4 star
25%
3 star
4%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from India

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from India

Top reviews from other countries

sjhigbee
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous addition to the Memoirs of Lady Trent series - but read the others first!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 September 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
SueL
5.0 out of 5 stars More archeological inspired intrigue
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 October 2019
Verified Purchase
WH - London
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy continuation
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Foggygirl
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
Reviewed in Canada on 26 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Jessica
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay. But not a patch on the first series.
Reviewed in the United States on 14 March 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Marie Brennan is a former anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for inspiration. She has recently misapplied her professors' hard work to the short novel DRIFTWOOD and TURNING DARKNESS INTO LIGHT, a sequel to the Hugo Award-nominated Victorian adventure series The Memoirs of Lady Trent. The first book of that series, A NATURAL HISTORY OF DRAGONS, was a finalist for the World Fantasy Award. Her other works include the Doppelganger duology, the urban fantasy Wilders series, the Onyx Court historical fantasies, the Varekai novellas, and nearly sixty short stories, as well as the New Worlds series of worldbuilding guides. Together with Alyc Helms as M.A. Carrick, she is the author of the upcoming Rook and Rose epic fantasy trilogy, beginning with THE MASK OF MIRRORS in January 2021. For more information, visit swantower.com, Twitter @swan_tower, or her Patreon at www.patreon.com/swan_tower.