<Embed>
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more.

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Vanderbeekers of 141st Street Hardcover – Illustrated, 3 October 2017

4.7 out of 5 stars 830 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from
Hardcover, Illustrated
₹ 1,300.86

Product description

Review

★ "Glaser's love for the Vanderbeekers shines through in her prose and stick drawings. Readers will look forward to future adventures. A highly recommended purchase for all middle grade collections." --School Library Journal, starred review

★ "Few [families] in children's literature are as engaging or amusing as the Vanderbeekers." --Booklist, starred review

"...[Karina Yan Glaser's] contemporary family narrative preserves the winsome tone and innocence of the aforementioned classics while updating them with a rich, modern diversity of characters, settings and problems....Glaser's warmhearted story highlights a cold truth: What is often missing in the busy lives of today's plugged-in, checked-out families is a sense of community. In the vast village of New York City, she suggests, what it takes to raise a child can still be found on one square block." --The New York Times Book Review

"A heartwarming story about family and community that will appeal to readers who also enjoy an old-fashioned feel." --Kirkus

"With rich dialogue and detailed descriptions of the neighborhood, the text provides a humorous and heartwarming story about siblings uniting to save their home. Through the Vanderbeekers, Glaser provides a portrait of the splendors of Harlem and the sense of community that can be built among neighbors of all backgrounds. . . This will draw fans of rollicking family stories, and while it's centered on Christmas, it would be enjoyable any time of the year." --Bulletin

". . . Uplifting. . . Readers who enjoy a cheery story that's simultaneously old-fashioned and of the moment in its sensibility will enjoy this introduction to the Vanderbeekers and look forward to their future adventures." --Publishers Weekly

"Glaser's third-person narration weaves individual characters' plot threads and a palpable sense of place through the larger family story in the tradition of Jeanne Birdsall, Sydney Taylor, Elizabeth Enright, and Hilary McKay." --Horn Book

"The Vanderbeekers join the Melendys, the Cassons, and the 'All of a Kind' Family on my list of favorite book-families. I'm in love with every single Vanderbeeker! Their story is utterly enchanting: I did not want it to end. More, please?"
--Linda Sue Park, Newbery medalist

About the Author

Karina Glaser lives in Harlem, New York City, with her husband, two daughters, and assortment of rescued animals. One of her proudest achievements is raising two kids who can't go anywhere without a book. This is her debut novel.

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Product details

  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; Illustrated edition (3 October 2017)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 297 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0544876393
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0544876392
  • Reading age : 8 - 12 years
  • Item Weight : 408 g
  • Dimensions : 13.97 x 2.8 x 20.96 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 830 ratings

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
830 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from India

Reviewed in India on 26 November 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Aoife Traynor
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING B OOK
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 January 2021
Verified Purchase
J. v. Kirchbach
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmassy tween novel
Reviewed in Germany on 8 January 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend Vanderbeekers
Reviewed in Canada on 16 November 2019
Verified Purchase
Pat
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story
Reviewed in Canada on 5 July 2020
Verified Purchase
Jennifer Bruce
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME
Reviewed in Canada on 12 March 2020
Verified Purchase